COOKIES

GRANDMA’S PEPPERKAKOR

This is my grandmother’s recipe. I have no idea where this came from as my grandmother had written it on an index card , my mother had transfered to another index card for her file, and I copied onto a third index card for my files from my mother’s card.

PEPPERKAKOR

1/2 pound butter (1 cup)

1 1/2 cups sugar

2 Tablespoons Kayro syrup (dark)

2 teaspoons baking soda

1 egg beaten

1 teaspoon cinnamon

1 teaspoon cloves

1 teaspoon ginger

1 teaspoon cardamon

3 cups flour

There are no mixing directions nor rolling and baking directions, but I have found that most of the recipes seem logical.

Cream the butter and sugar and Kayro syrup. Then, sift the dry ingredients together.( I don’t find that I need to sift the dry ingredients together for much of anything. This might be a baking flaw, but I usually fluff the flour before I gently place it in the measuring cup. Then I place the other dry ingredients in the same bowl and use a whisk to mix the ingredients together.) Stir in the dry ingredients until well mixed. Chill the dough overnight.

Roll the dough out on a floured surface and cut into shapes. Bake on ungreased cookie sheet.

The index card doesn’t give an oven temperature, nor does it give a length of time for baking. My guess is that the oven temp should be 350 degrees and the length would be determined by how thin you rolled the dough.

One thought on “GRANDMA’S PEPPERKAKOR

Leave a Reply

